Category of fatty acid: Omega 7

One category of fatty acid called Omega-7, which the site of unsaturation is seven carbon atoms from the end of the carbon chain. The two most common omega-7 fatty acids in nature are palmitoleic acid and vaccenic acid. Whereas Omega-3, -6, -9, and -12 are polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAS), Omega-7 (Palmitoleic Acid) is a monounsaturated fatty acid (MUFA).

Palmitoleic Acid (Omega-7) has been studied for its potential benefit towards many important health applications including heart health, anti-inflammation, insulin sensitivity, antimicrobial effects, moisture replenishment of mucosal membranes, and anti-aging benefits for skin, hair and nails.

Omega-7 has been shown to combat hyperglycemia by increasing insulin sensitivity and glucose uptake, and reducing insulin resistance thus lowering blood glucose levels. Omega-7 has been shown to attenuate dyslipidemia through multiple mechanisms, such as lowering circulating triglycerides, total cholesterol and LDL.

Studies show that omega-7 improves lipid balance by favorably regulating fat production within fat cells, while regulating fat burning. That means less fat deposition—and lower levels of fat and triglycerides in blood and liver tissue (J Anim Sci. 2012 Oct;90(10):3433-41).

A good source of Palmitoleic Acid is obtained from the oil of the Macadamia plant (Macadamia integrifolia). Macadamias are large, spreading evergreen trees reaching 10 to 15 meters high and almost as wide.
Category of fatty acid: Omega 7

Recent Posts

The Most Popular Articles

RSS Food Processing

Hypertension and Diet

Processing of Food

Food Science and Human Nutrition

  © Blogger templates Newspaper by 2008

Back to TOP